Banner 960

‘Star Trek: Discovery’ Beams into San Diego Comic-Con 2017 [UPDATE]

[UPDATE July 17] We can stop wondering which cast members will be beaming into San Diego Comic-Con this year. The Saturday Ballroom 20 panel (moderated by Rainn Wilson) will see Sonequa Martin-Green, Jason Isaacs, Doug Jones, Shazard Latif, Mary Wiseman, Anthony Rapp, and James Frain – along with executive producers Alex Kurtzman, Gretchen J. Berg, Aaron Harberts, Heather Kadin, and Akiva Goldsman.

But that’s not the only place to find Star Trek in San Diego! They will also be hosting  STAR TREK: DISCOVERY experience at the Michael J. Wolf Fine Arts Gallery (363 Fifth Avenue, San Diego) on Thursday, July 20 – Sunday, July 23.

There, you’ll be able to see props, costumes, sketches, and more from the upcoming series — as well as sit in the U.S.S. Discovery Captain’s Chair. One thousand fans each day will also receive a free, limited edition Discovery poster.

You can also catch Star Trek all over downtown, with free “intergalactic” pedicab rides. As an added touch, each vehicle will display an illuminated U.S.S. Discovery delta shield on the back.

Finally, on Friday, July 21 and Saturday, July 22, as part of the #TrekDiscovery Challenge throughout San Diego, fans will encounter an array of authentically costumed Trek ambassadors, representing crews from the first five “Star Trek” television series. Fans who post photos of themselves with ambassadors from each of the five series’ crews – and in the STAR TREK: DISCOVERY Captain’s Chair at the Michael J. Wolf Fine Arts Gallery – and who tag all six photos with the #TrekDiscovery challenge hashtag on Twitter or Instagram, will be eligible to win a Roku streaming stick and a subscription to CBS All Access. Prizes will be awarded on a first-come, first-served basis. Fans can find clues regarding the location of the #TrekDiscovery crews by following @StarTrek on Twitter and Instagram.

[PREVIOUS] As we reported earlier, Star Trek: Discovery will be beaming into San Diego Comic-Con this year with a panel.

CBS will be bringing the series on Saturday, July 22 at 2:30PM for a Ballroom 20 panel. Details are scarce at the moment, but considering how much CBS put into last year’s Star Trek anniversary panels at San Diego Comic-Con – we fully expect them to pull out all the stops this year.

With a large cast, that includes Anthony Rapp, Jason Isaacs, Doug Jones, Sonequa Martin-Green, Rainn Wilson, and others, it could be a full stage.

Are you excited that Star Trek is heading to San Diego Comic-Con? Let us know int he comments.

Scroll to Top